panahosting.blogg.se

Best home media server
Best home media server











best home media server

It’s certainly possible to spend thousands of bucks on NAS drives, “endpoints” and other hardware for your home media server.

best home media server

There are limitations to installing Plex on a desktop PC or a laptop-namely, you’ll need to keep it running whenever you want to stream media-but it’s a great, low-effort way to see what all the fuss is about. In minutes, you can simply install Plex Media Server on a Mac or Windows PC, pick some folders filled with music, videos or other media, and start streaming away. Of course, you don’t necessarily need a Raspberry Pi to set up a home media server.

best home media server

I’m no expect at building PCs, but I had my first media server up and running on a Raspberry Pi in only a few hours. I then tossed some old MP3s and home video files on the memory stick, and before I knew it, my unused Raspberry Pi had turned into a media server. Mounting an 8GB USB thumb drive (I decided to start small until I knew what I was doing) on the Pi turned out to be a little trickier, although I even had that licked after another 45 minutes or so. There are plenty of online tutorials on how to install Plex Media Server on a Raspberry Pi, and within an hour or so I had Plex up and running.













Best home media server